Day 4 – Something you have to forgive someone for

I have thought and thought and thought about this one, and honestly I am not entirely sure I have a solid answer for it.

Not because there isn’t history with people, there is – and loads of it – however I am not one to hold a grudge (anymore). I do try now, to understand people’s points of view and then just compromise or “agree to disagree” as the situation needs.

There are no major hassles in my life and there is no one that sticks out that I am still angry at for anything.

Are there regrets?  A massive hell yes.  So many wasted friendships because of boys, guilds, location and time constraints, and I do wish all could be forgiven in the blink of an eye and everyone could pretend it never happened and that time didn’t disappear – but it doesn’t work like that.

To me, if something has been forgiven, it generally means there was betrayal or hurt; so whilst all is forgiven, there is always going to be a level of caution or distance which takes time to repair…I have found through experience, the caution creates just enough doubt that most of the time repairing the breach is simply too hard or time consuming to complete.

I would rather not find new friends though and repairing things would be better, with the hope that after bumps in all relationships it becomes stronger and more comfortable, making it less likely that issues can break it down again.

Life simply doesn’t work that way.