Water explosions

I have been sick with a cold like thing since Thursday – including he who shall not be named – he has the sinus/cough/body thing, and I have the body/headache/cough thing.

So friday whilst we are both sitting on the couch in our own delirium, I notice Loki licking up something on the floor, immediately thinking one of them had peed, then also realising he wouldn’t be licking it up if that was the case.

Ran into the bathroom to find the pipe in the vanity unit had burst an d water was rushing out – covering now the entire en suite, bedroom and start of the entrance hall in water.  the en suite had about 2 inches, the bedroom was almost floating and the water was making its way to the lounge room and TV.

every towel I owned was thrown down to prevent more heading for the lounge and we both started mopping up the water – including towels we borrowed from a friend.  The insurance company was really fast and got someone out here at about 7pm to start sucking up the water, he left a blower to dry out the carpet – as it was clean water and not sewage or something, they say it can just be dried and cleaned – especially since they got on to it as fast as they did.

So all our bedroom furniture is in the lounge room – thanks to another friend coming out to help us move everything – we are sleeping on couches and floors.  Last night, I went to sleep on the floor of the spare bedroom ( I don’t like the fold out sofa – it hurts my back), and i noticed the floor in there was wet.

We emptied out the cupboard and a few thing have water damage now – a very old suitcase, a picnic basket/backpack thing which I cannot wash so likely will be mouldy soon, a hand painted oil picture of my parents wedding has been wet up to the middle – appears no damage to  the actual image and mainly just the backing – but can’t be sure until it dries out. By the time we got to bed it was about 2:30am….we didn’t want to sleep in that room either because the water had been left a two days and anything could be developing in there…

I did notice the back of the vanity cabinet was wet – and I did not think at the time to check if it has gone through to the other room –  so now I am concerned there could be structural damage – which would add more costs to this whole thing.

This week was going to be our first on a new budget – and as usual I can’t get a fucking break….anything in my world that can fuck up – will fuck up – and i am so at the end of my tether I can barely function.  I am so close to losing the plot entirely and losing my shit. I don’t see the fucking point of trying…I don’t fucking want to deal with this fuming shit they call a “life”.  I think I must already be dead because this is my private fucking hell.

I am currently waiting for this cleaner to come back so we can show him the further damage as per the instructions from the claim handler this morning when I called to advise we found more damage.

2 thoughts on “Water explosions

  1. Ondrejka says:

    Hm really puts the floods in NSW in perspective hey?

    • dragonray says:

      Sorry, I think you have my blog confused with someone who writes about issues that don’t relate…

      In other words, if you have nothing helpful to offer except for outright rudeness go find some other blog….I am not writing about all the terrible things happening in the world – that’s why you have media sites….

Leave a Reply

