Day 12: Something you never get compliments on

It appears as though a few posts have disappeared, and so here I am re-typing them 🙂  They will of course, not be as fabulous as they were the first time, but here they are anyway.

The one thing I never get complimented on, aside from by my hubby, who compliments me on everything, so I am not counting for this one post, is my face.

I have always considered myself pretty, even with a slightly fat face – I have always managed to look quite good – except for morning before my coffee.  However it seems I am mistaken as it is something that if I am complimented on, I get the “if you lost some weight” after it.  All through high school and teenage years….let me say, I never thought I was overweight or large in high school…I was carrying a little extra perhaps, but I was a size 12-14 and I was happy with that – I didn’t feel the need to lose more; but so many of my peers would say “You would be so pretty if you just lost some weight” and in my eyes I thought I was pretty without losing the weight.

I don’t want this to go off on a tangent about unrealistic body images – but let me get this clear right now – I KNOW I need to lose weight, I know I am fat and I understand that in my head, but that is now.  15 years ago – I was not thinking like that nor did I care about things like that – I was not trying to get win popularity, modelling, boys or cheerleader competitions and I was happy with it – as much as a teenager is ever happy with their appearance (we all suffer from some self confidence issues, but I honestly believe that is just part of maturing and becoming an adult).

The whole point I suppose was that I don’t feel that I get compliments about my face from other people/friends without their being a butt-face added on 😀

Leave a Reply

