Uni assignment help requested :D

If you are willing and able – please drop past my website for my uni assignment and tell me what you think I need to fix etc.

It is a work in progress and I am aware I need to add more photographers that I enjoy to the links page.

I am also aware the welcome page has some spacing issues and looks odd.

Let me know about anything else.

To give you a run down, I am supposed to create a web presence with a theme – I am going with amatuer photographer. Β I have to have three connections to the site which then connect back. Β I am going to be getting rid of my facebook account but have not done that as yet.

Anyway thank you for your help πŸ˜€

edited to add….

helps if I add thelink…right???

http://web.me.com/melanie.bryson/Brytedragons_Lair/Welcome.html

9 thoughts on “Uni assignment help requested :D

  1. Kay Anne says:

    Looking good. The only things that stand out to me are as follows:

    a) Myshutterspace picture link seems out of place. It’s style is very different from everything else around it.
    b) Where you’ve used the really white coloured font for headings, it seems to have a lot of contrast. I personally prefer the duller grey text used throughout much of the site.
    c) fonts could possibly be a tad bigger/more spaced out? I find that white text on a dark background strains my eyes more than the reverse, and that is helped by larger, better spaced text.

    Really, though, b & c are nitpicks more than anything.

  2. Sian says:

    This is all a bit nitpicky and more about the text than the web design, ok? I haven’t done any web design but I’m good at reading πŸ˜›
    Please don’t take offence if any of my opinions don’t match what you believe should be on your website.

    “All images on this site have been taken and edited by me and unless you have requested it of me, they are not to be used without my permission for anything.”

    I’d say “without explicit permission, these images are not available for reuse” or something – the bit where you say ‘unless you have requested’ suggests that even if you say no, they can still refer back to the statement and say “but you just said we had to ask’.

    On the about me you left out the y in My , km’s doesn’t have an apostrophe but husband’s does (as in, the camera belonging to him), I’d leave off ‘so to speak’ , and Victoria has a capital.

    On “Exogesis” or Exegesis (you use both words, one in the menu, one as title – I don’t know which is correct), the background image you talk about – well I don’t know if it’s actually there or not. THere’s a lovely textured grey background, with dark edges, but I just don’t see it as an image, more just a texture. Also this link is visible at the bottom of the Exogesis page but I don’t know why – http://www.iconarchive.com/show/web-2-icons-by-fasticon/FaceBook-icon.html .

    I like the blog pages, I like that each blog post has a bit of text but mostly a linked photo after all that’s the point of the website.

    I hope this helps. I love some of your images πŸ™‚ Especially ‘hello’, ‘flight’, ‘shadows’.

    • dragonray says:

      Thanks Sian, yeah ignore the Exegesis thing – I was fixing that today…I actually had the site on wordpress but changed it, so I basically copied and pasted the etxt without reading it, so the background image no longer applies, but that is the page I am dreading doing, so am just hoping to ignore it for a while πŸ˜€ hehehe

      I shall fix all the grammatical errors, you know me and my lack of typing skills – can’t explain the apostrophe thing though….

      Thanks for the suggestion for the permission thing, I shall reword it πŸ™‚

      I am glad you liked some of my photos….it makes me feel all fuzzy!

      Melanie

  3. dragonray says:

    Thanks Kay, all nitpicks are good. I will have a play and make some changes over the next couple of days.

    I like the idea of making the white a lighter grey and maybe slightly larger…

    Thank you for taking the time to look at it for me.

  4. Kay Anne says:

    @Sian I’m going to remember you when I need something proofed! I’m impressed by your attention to detail regarding the text.

    @dragonray No worries, happy to help where I can. Say hi to Drew for me.

  5. Team Oyeniyi says:

    The transitions aren’t smooth – the pages flash. That’s my only comment!

  6. Heida says:

    I tried to get the RSS FEED but the feed url displays me some crazy xml errors…

Leave a Reply

