Teens and driving

This article really got to me this morning :

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/speeding-driver-john-tells-of-his-grief-after-killing-his-best-mate-in-a-car-accident/story-e6frf7jo-1225942389136

I just cannot understand why this is still even occuring.  A teenager was picked up this morning doing 159kms in an 80 zone..he had only had his license for 4 months.

I am just so sad that teens are still going out there and driving like maniacs….remember a while ago now the massive accident that killed 5 teens or so in the one car?  It was huge and there was a massive public outcry…what happened?

I was never a speeder or hooner.  I got into my car, drove the speed limits, was always very careful…to this day – since having my license since I was 18, I have been in one accident (someone rammed into the rear of my car) and I have never had a speeding ticket.  Yet most of my 18 year old friends have experienced both, one friend I recall on a drive from melbourne to sydney got two speeding fines within the space of 15 minutes.

There was one night with some mates I was driving a little recklessly through the back streets of sydney suburbs, things could have gone very badly then should another car have been around.  I am still guilty about that night and the danger I put my friends in.  I never drove like that again.

Why don’t we do something about it?  TV ads don’t work, teens dying on the roads don’t work, zero level alcohol isn’t working.  All the solutions I can come up with involve money which people (read government) would not want to spend.  For example:

– Limit cars to being able to go faster than 100kms for P platers.  If a P Plater buys a car – speed modifiers are added automatically and consequences can be enacted for people who disable it and are caught.

– Calder park has drag nights and off road racing…but you have to pay $65 bucks to enter your car….this should be free (government subsidised) if they want to get the hoons somewhere to do their stuff in a “safer” environment. I wouldn’t pay 65 to go drag racing if I can do it for free in my neighbourhood and I am not even a P Plater anymore.

– Breathalyzers should be added to cars before they can be started up, especially for P platers.

– Education for P platers – like the article above, get people (criminals) to visit schools and talk to the year 11/12 students about the dangers of driving, make it more personal to them rather than just some ad on tv that they cannot relate to.  Let them see the effect of going to jail for driving like fuckwits.

There is obviously no clear cut solution as teens will always act like they do, but I just wish there was some way to make them understand that not only is it dangerous for them, but it is dangerous for others that get involved as well..

It just makes me so sad, I felt i had to write about it….

 

Leave a Reply

