When it rains it pours – more job stuff

I have two interviews coming up, one is tomorrow at 11.30am and the other one is on Monday at 11.00am.

The interview tomorrow is for a training role at my current employer, it would potentially be a massive pay rise and is in an aspect of my current position which I really enjoy – being training new people.  It would probably involve doing my cert in workplace assessment (bonus) and hopefully ( I am not 100% sure) it is in my current department – so I know all the products I would be potentially training.

I have wanted to get into training for a few years now, and it has always been my back up plan if everything else fails, so I apply for the positions whenever they come up – they are not very often.

The second position is for a trainee claims assessor – which if I want to get into life underwriting is a good place to start – a lot of trainee underwriters come from a claims background.  The only issue with this position is I am basically being given grace for the interview. The manager wants to put me into a claims admin position with a view to moving into claims in 18 months.  I am nervous of ANY company that says you can move into other positions in whatever time period…only because in 10 years at the same company I have never moved up – only sideways and I am a little gun shy with false promises.

My recruitment person has told me that I just need to wow the manager in the interview and prove that there isn’t a gap in my knowledge or skills that I couldn’t just move into an assessor role.

The upside to this role is that it sets me onto my career path for underwriting – and heck I may even enjoy claims enough to stay there for the forseeable future.  The downside is I may not be eligible for a payrise as an admin, and I will miss out on my bonus this year if I leave now.

So tough decisions to be made 🙂

2 thoughts on “When it rains it pours – more job stuff

  1. Slamdunk says:

    I hope the interviews go well for you then.

Leave a Reply

